Quoth the Raven


“Leave my loneliness unbroken!”


“Be that word our sign of parting, bird or fiend!” I shrieked, upstarting —
“Get thee back into the tempest and the Night’s Plutonian shore!
Leave no black plume as a token of that lie thy soul hath spoken!
Leave my loneliness unbroken! — quit the bust above my door!
Take thy beak from out my heart, and take thy form from off my door!

And the raven, never flitting, still is sitting, still is sitting
On the pallid bust of Pallas just above my chamber door;
And his eyes have all the seeming of a demon’s that is dreaming.
And the lamplight o’er him streaming throws his shadow on the floor;
And my soul from out that shadow that lies floating on the floor
Shall be lifted—nevermore!

– Poe

the King of Emo.

Interestingly enough, after I posted this, I found out that my Native American Zodiac sign is Raven!

Ravens are the largest songbirds in North America. Their bodies are covered in rich black plumage, which shines with an iridescent bluish color. Though often mistaken with crows, ravens are much larger and their croak is more raucous. Ravens are intelligent masters of mimicking the calls of other animals and have also been known to mimic some human words. They are good at finding food and communicating with other ravens where food is located.

It is their natural talent of recycling, which has gained these birds a bad rap. They do a good job cleaning up nature by eating dead animals. Ravens further recycle by using the same nests year after year, and bringing in new materials for repairs if necessary. These birds build their nest in large trees or the sides of cliffs where they usually lay 4-5 eggs. They don’t wander far from where they were raised and will only get a new mate if one of the pair dies.

Ravens are known as the “keeper of secrets” in several native tribes, and are the teachers of mysticism. They have been wrapped in a wealth of myth and lore throughout many cultures and ages. Their black color and diet of dead animals associates them with the vast void of darkness, which is representative of the unconscious.

2 Responses to “Quoth the Raven”

  1. ecorover Says:

    I’m writing a chapter on raven-human interactions for a book and would like to use the raven-man hybrid image. It’s an academic, not-for-profit project. Who is the artist or whom might I contact about rights?

  2. O'Maolchaithaigh Says:

    I just found the image here: http://www.ravensmirror.com/. I don’t recall if that’s where I found it originally. There is a note that the drawing is by Chris. I also just noticed that the website has specific prohibitions against copying or using the image at all, which I hadn’t noticed a year ago. The web page is dated April 4, 2010, which is odd since I “borrowed” the image over a year ago. It was just an image I noticed then; I don’t recall the website at all.


Leave a Reply

