This Is The End


This is the end
Beautiful friend
This is the end
My only friend, the end

Of our” my “elaborate plans, the end

It hurts to set you free
But you’ll never follow me

No safety or surprise, the end
Ill never look into your eyes…again

This is the end.

_no_more_sorrow__by_nonnetta

2 Responses to “This Is The End”

  1. sudafeduberalles Says:

    Interesting that you should quote the lyrics of that song (theme to Apocalypse Now)…this week actor Sam Bottoms died of cancer. See? It could always be worse. Poor Sam, after playing in A.N. he went on to do a real cheesy horror flick–I can’t even remember the name, but it also starred Rip Torn. I think it was about a murderous doll possesed by the devil–but not Chuckie. I had a crush on Sam. And his brother Timothy. They seemed so sensative on screen. Anyway, I think we’ve heard this all before–you know, you resolving to stop talking to Karen. In “Last Picture Show in Texas” I really hated that the Cybil Shepard character dumped Timothy Bottoms’ character, broke his heart. She was a silly, stupid girl (Lacey? was that her name?) who was a real jerk-a-holic. You know what helped me for a time? Playing tennis. I was very much hung up on a man and I joined a tennis league and then became immediately obsessed with improving my serve. Sadly, winter came and my thoughts returned to the man, but it didn’t matter he still loved his incredibly bitchy, controlling wife anyway. Don’t be discouraged Terry.

  2. O'Maolchathaigh Says:

    Hmm. I’ve been discouraged for some time, and then recently our weekly lunches became once monthly, and I had to email her to see if she could go. Sometimes she’d let me know she couldn’t go in advance, so there was still a connection there, a little bit o’ friendship, or habit anyway. So, I emailed her yesterday, and she said: ” I already have plans.” I don’t know which is worse, seeing her and being depressed afterwards, or not seeing her. Anyway, I knew things were going this way. She is too nice or chicken to tell me right out, so she’s weaning me away, probably wants me to think it’s my idea. It’s OK. I feel a little something, but mostly I seem more like an observer. I always liked that Doors song; it’s pretty dark as it progresses: “The killer awoke before dawn. He put his boots on.” It was odd, but immediately after Karen wrote that, I thought of the song – the part that goes: “This is the end.” It was like an amplifier reverb in my head. I had a a Xmas card for her – I always give her one, and last year she finally gave me one – so I addressed it and sent it to her house instead. Gave her money again. Don’t you want to just beat the shit out of me? 🙂


Leave a Reply

