Why Would I Go? she said.


Forwarded a Halloween invitation to Karen.  It is an annual event, hosted by two of Albuquerque’s hardest working advocates for peace.  I figured: 1.) Karen loves Halloween.  2.) She went to one of the demonstrations these people organized, so she’s part of the anti-war community, and 3.) I wasn’t asking her to go with me. 

I didn’t expect to hear anything back, unless she mentioned it at lunch tomorrow, assuming we have lunch together tomorrow, but she replied, and quickly:

“Already have plans for the Saturday before Halloween.  Plus why would I go to a party hosted by people I don’t know?”

I thought that was odd.  Perhaps I’m misinterpreting the plain text, but I got the feeling I pissed her off.   How terrible that I would let her know about a Halloween party?  This feels a lot like my marriage did before it ended.  I am sooo good at relationships!

4 Responses to “Why Would I Go? she said.”

  1. O'Maolchathaigh Says:

    Yep. I was right; she’s pissed off again. No word from her at all today – no email saying she was going to lunch; no email saying she wasn’t going, or couldn’t go.

  2. sudafedlove Says:

    Hi T, I know I haven’t written in a while. I hope you enjoyed the movies I suggested. Actually, I’m shocked to see that you’re still hung up on Karen. Really? What kind of tortured human being are you??? Don’t answer that. Still, you know, you are a very gifted writer and I hope you pursue that avenue. Maybe in that there is a kind of consolation prize. I’m wondering if Karen has a boyfriend? How would you feel about that? You know, you should offer yourself up to science–any psyche major would have a thesis on your obsessive love for Karen. I mean, you’re a gold mine of Oedipidal struggles, neuroses, and who knows what else. Take care T. I’m sincere.

  3. LuLi Says:

    Don’t bother to help her anymore or do things for her if she’s going to be rude about it. If she is your friend she could at least give you the respect of one..

  4. O'Maolchathaigh Says:

    Hey sudafed, I don’t think I’m hung up anymore, but as long as Karen wants to have lunch together, I’m willing. I don’t obsess over her anymore, and if I never saw her again, that would be OK, and that is, in fact, where this is going. It’s an odd relationship, with no rational reason to continue. Still, I am not going to tell her we should end a relationship that we never had. It was all in my head, and my head is much clearer now. Lately I’ve been seeing a little of an old girlfriend from 32 years ago – that is interesting, but not exciting. We play chess together. She also doesn’t want to get involved. She is a few years older than me, left me for another guy back then, married and divorced him, married another, divorced him when she met someone else, married that guy but is now divorced from that guy too. I don’t want to get involved with her either.
    Had you suggested Science of Sleep? That is a good movie; enjoyed it.


Leave a Reply

