A Vision In Purple


rabbitpurpledress.jpg

May 10, 2007

Karen looked so good today. Sleeveless purple dress, purple earring, purple bra peaking out from her cleavage. I try not to stare, but sometimes I look down and I can’t help myself. I love seeing her. Her arms and legs are beautiful. I want to touch, to run my hands along her shoulders and arms. I want to feel her in my arms. She is so sexy to me. I want to see, touch, taste every part of her. We talked about Inuyasha, inuyasha_e_kagome_016.jpg a manga and anime series that she’s been reading and watching: a Japanese schoolgirl is transported back in time to feudal Japan and meets a half human/half demon (like me). She watches it with her niece, who is only three, but enjoys it a lot. She brought me the DVDs with two seasons of the TV series. inuyasha_kagome_kiss.jpg There are movies too, and a series of books that inspired the movies and TV shows, which in turn inspired more books. Her plans this weekend are to finish watching the ones she just bought. What a pleasant dream I have that I am watching it with her. She’s still waiting on the latest book in the Dresden Files series, n204971.jpg book number 9, which is coming out in paperback. She’s on a waiting list for it. Karen did make it to the amusement park on Sunday; shocktower2.jpg her niece had a great time, and insisted that Karen ride most rides with her, sometimes over and over. I said that Karen was spoiling her, but she was quick to point out that her niece does listen to her, staying by her all day without wandering away. She told her to stay close, and she did. Too bad, of course, that I couldn’t have been with them. family1.jpg

Karen’s also reading a manga called Ranma 1/2. Lot of romance in these stories, as she pointed out. ranma-1-2-0017.jpg I’ve seen it but hadn’t bought one yet; I look for deals, but she found it in the library. She finds a lot of manga there, usually in the children’s section, although the stories contain some nudity and usually lots of violence.

The stories, I’ve noticed, often concern teenagers, especially boys who never quite understand what’s going on, and are laughingly immature. Karen says that boys under 25 are always like that. She can’t stand ’em. Well, all I could say is that people do say that about men, that we never do grow up. Walked with her back to her office; no shoulder hug today. Maybe she’s afraid of me still?

Karen returned my Le Guin stories; left a bookmark in the Lady of Moge, lady12ly.jpg but didn’t comment on it. I asked her what she thought of the stories, but she just said she liked ’em. I mentioned the Ones Who Walk Away From Omelas. I’ve yet to read it, but I understand the parallel between that story and the comfortable life we all live in the US. Karen told me it could be read online, and I’ve seen that it’s there, but haven’t gotten back to it yet. I’ve just read portions. The story is fantastic, about a society that lives in peace, without want or greed, but at a cost. It’s the ones who walk away that are the heroes. Could we walk away from our comfortable lives and our DVDs and our books and movies? The connection that Le Guin was making is not obvious to most of us, and the problems caused by US greed are not obvious to its citizens. Well, we are what we are, and what will be, will be.

Time to go to the airport; pick up The Dragon back from Florida. What will be, will be, but what will that be?

3 Responses to “A Vision In Purple”

  1. Mike Says:

    Great Blog!

  2. Anna Says:

    I am intrigued by you. The energy you must spend on Karen. I do not judge you at all. I want to press “fast-forward” on your story and see where it goes so I can take a lesson from it for my own life. Keep writing.

  3. O'Maolchathaigh Says:

    Thanks for not judging Anna. I’d like to press fast-forward too! We’re used to reading stories and novels that have a definitive ending, and I have no idea where this will go. There’s something there between me and Karen. There are unresolved problems in the marriage which existed before I met Karen. My attempts to resolve things have not worked, and now I find that I no longer want to. Maybe that will change? I don’t know. Maybe Karen will let me know just what is possible or not? Maybe I will end up living alone. Maybe nothing will happen. I remember a phrase, “living lives of quiet desperation,” that may apply here. Inertia seems more powerful than the need for change sometimes.


Leave a Reply

